UNWRITER Ron Berry

December 3, 2008

Back Alley Wanderers day 2

Filed under: book tour — unwriter1 @ 11:59 am
Tags: , ,

The Alley VisitsAmanda told Alex about how hard it was for Momma Kitty to find enough food for everyone. Alex asked where she lived. This was a very hard question since Amanda left home early and didn’t keep track of where she was going. Instead of just answering, she started to cry.

“Don’t cry, we’ll find it.”

“You, you’re taking me home?”

She was whimpering because her great adventure was being cut short.

“No, I’m not sending you home. I thought we could go back to get Momma kitty and show her some good places to find food. Then you and I could resume your adventure, if you would permit me to tag along.”

“Oh (sob), ok”

What Amanda didn’t know was that Alex had wanted to strike out on his own but was afraid of going alone. He readily admitted that Amanda was braver than he. But, together they could look out for each other. He went a step further by saying that they would have to look out for each other. He wasn’t going to play the big brother protector because it was obvious that Amanda could look out for herself.
Amanda knew the direction she came from, but that was about it. She and Alex headed that way hoping certain things would look familiar. Alex knew when they were headed correctly because Amanda would smile and point to something she had seen.

I wish momma had come looking for me. It would be so much easier.

Unknown to Amanda, her little sister begged momma to see if she could try to find older sister. She was too young to be on her own. At least that was her youngest one’s opinion. Momma agreed. It shouldn’t be too hard to pick up Amanda’s trail. Each kitty had a scent of their own and momma knew Amanda’s well. They spent a lot of time together foraging. Momma was teaching her kids the art of finding food, starting with the oldest.

“I’ve got a few scraps of food here. This should hold you guys until I return. Big sister couldn’t have gotten too far.”

I hope she didn’t go too far!

“We’re going the right way. I remember that house!”

“How? They all look alike to me.”

“Momma taught me how to recognize things by their smell and that house smells familiar.”

I picked the right partner! No one taught me about smells other than food.

Amanda headed down an alley. It didn’t look familiar, but it smelled right. As she walked over to a garbage can laying on it’s side, a human came out and picked it up. She was trapped!!

Alex had been checking out another garbage can and when he turned around, Amanda was gone! He was about to start yelling when he saw the human. For protection he darted behind some plastic bags. He had heard what humans do with kitties and he wanted nothing to do with them. He hadn’t actually seen any of the horror stories but why take chances?

“Meow! Meow!! (most humans don’t understand kitty language).

“How did you get in there? Here, I’ll let you go. If the boss saw me bring you in I’d be in big trouble. But, before I let you out, let me go get you something to eat. If I let you out first you’ll just run away.”

With that, he put the can down and left. Amanda was scared. What was this human planning on doing? She heard him say something but kitties don’t understand human language either.

What’s going to happen to me? Momma will never find me.”

As Amanda started to cry, the human reached in and picked her up. When he put her down, there was a big pile of cat food!! The human took the can and walked away. She was safe and now had food!! But where was Alex?

“Alex, where are you?”

“I’m here. I thought you were a goner! Wow!! Where did you get all this food?”

“The human gave it to me.”

Both kitties ate as much as they could then carried as much as they could to help them with the rest of their journey. As it turned out, it was a short trip. When Amanda and Alex rounded the corner and headed towards another alley that Amanda said smelled familiar, Alex caught a glimpse of another kitty coming down from the other end.

“Quick Amanda, over here. There’s another kitty coming.”

Amanda’s nose picked up a very familiar scent.

“Momma!!!! You came looking for me!!”

“Momma, I’d like you to meet Alex. He helped me find a lot of food.”

“Pleased to meet you. I can show you where there is a lot of food.”

“Ok, but let’s get Amanda back to her brothers and sisters.”

“Momma, I don’t want to go home. It’s time for me to be out on my own.”

She pleaded with momma and was told that she was right, but first she should go home and explain that she is ok. She let Alex come along. When they got home, all Amanda’s family started asking questions. She assured them that she was ok and introduced Alex to everyone.

After resting for a bit, Momma asked Alex about the food and he said he could take her to the place. From there, Amanda and him would take off on their great adventures.

Next week, Amanda’s adventures start.

2 Comments »

  1. Cute story, Ron. Have you considered writing children’s books?

    Comment by Jean Henry Mead — December 3, 2008 @ 1:03 pm | Reply

  2. Loving the Amanda adventures. You should start a myspace for her and a fan club as her popularity grows.

    Comment by Marvin D Wilson — December 3, 2008 @ 2:54 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

