UNWRITER Ron Berry

June 15, 2009

Interview with Mosetta Penickphillips-Cermak

Filed under: book tour,interviews — unwriter1 @ 9:06 pm

Mosetta

Mosetta Rajah and the Big Blue Ball

1. You have Rajah featured in “Rajah and the Big Blue Ball”, Do you have plans to feature your Siamese cats in one of your books? 

Dr. Mosetta: I haven’t totally decided yet. One of the books (number seven) was not picked up by my publisher because it is about the death of one of the cats, and what Rajah tries to do to help. Although the publishers have an option, they would like me to rewrite it to soften the story line.

 2. I’ve noticed you are well versed in the classics. Would you please write the opening paragraph of Rajah meets Chynna for the first time, featuring the cats as Charles Dickens would?

 Dr. Mosetta: “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times”.

Chynna stared at the black thing with white markings. Already it’s head was half the length of her whole body.

“It is a pleasant thing to reflect upon, and furnishes a complete answer to those who contend for the gradual degeneration of the human species, that every baby born into the world is a finer one than the last”. But, this baby was canine.

It slept in the sun, in her sunny spot. “It was one of those March days when the sun shines hot and the wind blows cold: when it is summer in the light, and winter in the shade”.

“I have to find Mommy Maia”, said Chynna. “To conceal anything from those to whom I am attached, is not in my nature. I can never close my lips where I have opened my heart”.

Chynna jumped into mommy Maia’s lap. “HISS”.

“Don’t you like the new puppy?” ask Mommy. “I know you two will become the best of friends.”

Chynna was not too sure about that, but ,…”There is a wisdom of the head, and a wisdom of the heart”.

Mommy Maia had yet to be wrong.

3. You have been given two tickets and keys to a cabin. Firewood, food, coats and blankets are provided. You may take one animal and ten items. What animal and what items do you take? Hint: the cabin is in the Northwest Territories.

 Dr. Mosetta: Of course I would take Rajah LeBeau with me. Although I would NEVER want to visit this cabin, I would take lighters, a portable electric generator, my car, wireless computer, battery packs, carbonated water, medicine, a satellite cell phone, extra gasoline for the car, and a comprehensive medical kit.

 4. You have an interesting link with the number two, cats, dogs, kids, grandkids and great grandkids. Let’s keep that theme going. You’ve just won two all expenses paid tickets to the twin cities. You are allowed two books and two music CD’s. What are they?

 Dr. Mosetta: If I were only allowed two books, one of them would be the Jim Butcher’s “Harry Dresden” book. I haven’t read it as of yet, and I was distressed when they took it off of television. The other might be “Skin Trade” by Laurall K. Hamilton.

The first music CD would be the comprehensive works of Barbra Streisand, and the other, most likely would be Cher.

 5. You’ve written a lot of books. Hollywood is making a movie of your life. Who plays you?

Dr. Mosetta: Whoopie Goldberg.

 6. As told to Joyce, you have a strong connection with animals. You are walking through the forest when suddenly you come face to face with a lonely albino fox. What is the name of the book, the fox and the little girl that befriends the fox?

 Dr. Mosetta: The title of the book might be “Outcast”, and the little girl that befriends the fox might be called Jamie King. I think that I would name the fox something like Crystal.

 7. Parents seem to prefer game consoles to books. Have you considered turning your books into interactive games for these consoles?

 Dr. Mosetta: Yes, I have considered it, but first of all, I am not sure where to begin with this, and secondly, I have a concern that parents don’t choose to read to their children. There is a special bond that develops between children when their parents read to them.

4 Comments »

  1. Enjoyed the interview. Good rapport between author and interviewer, too. Methinks the shared mutual love of animals was helpful to the synergy. 🙂

    The Old Silly From Free Spirit Blog

    Comment by Marvin D Wilson — June 16, 2009 @ 8:48 am | Reply

  2. Thank you Ron, for having me. I appreciate the interview.
    Rajah just celebrated his 10th birthday on June 15, 2009.
    Rajah has been on Twitter (www.twitter.com/RajahLeBeau, and on facebook.
    I just gave Rajah Lebeau his own website. You can find him at http://www.rajahbooks.com.
    Don’t hesitate to visit. His email address is rajah@rajahbooks.com.
    Once more, thank you.
    Dr. Mosetta

    Comment by Dr. Mosetta — June 18, 2009 @ 8:55 am | Reply

  3. Dear Mr. Twain-

    I lost your email addy when Google iced my old account. Please send it to me at marvwilson2020@gmail.com? Thanks. 🙂

    The Old Silly

    Comment by theoldsilly — June 21, 2009 @ 12:29 pm | Reply

  4. What a great interview. I especially enjoyed your adaptation of your beginning your story like Dickens. That was great. I enjoy the classics myself and Dickens is a favorite. I’m an animal lover and always have fun with books that are about them or involve them.

    Comment by Dianne G Sagan — June 23, 2009 @ 11:22 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

