UNWRITER Ron Berry

October 5, 2011

4 Comments »

  1. I agree with you. I know that Wells Fargo charges $5 to cash a check if you don’t have an account with them. Now the rest of the story behind this $5 fee is that they charge that even if it is a check written on an account at that particular branch. I mean, come on, it’s your own check from one of your own accounts and you want to charge me $5 to cash it.
    I haven’t had an account with a “bank” in almost a decade. I use credit unions only. I don’t have credit cards because I refuse to pay the high interest payments just to make a purchase. The down side, my credit score has suffered because of it.
    It’s a real catch 22. If you don’t pay interest rates on lines of credit your credit score drops, then your low credit scores cost you in higher deposits for renting a house or getting utilities turned on. This is despite the fact that my previous rental agreement was paid on time every month and my utility payments were never late.
    Try to get Dish-Network or Direct TV turned on in your house. They don’t care about anything except your credit report. Good, bad or indifferent, it doesn’t matter what your story is, they refuse to hear it. Your non-refundable deposit is based solely on that report and nothing else.
    In these days, we are nothing but a number, plain and simple. It’s sad but true.

    Comment by Pail Writer — October 5, 2011 @ 9:23 am | Reply

  2. I hate banks! I cheer when one is robbed. My previous bank charged $35 for overdrafts,and they had the nerve to work the system even more to their advantage. I would sometimes have two checks out to a local utility,a small amount that I had enough to cover,and amybe a large one that was a couple pennies short.Even when the small check arrived first the bank would hold it a couple days before posting it so they could wait on the larger check to arrive,which they eagerly posted immediately so I would have two overdrafts instead of one. That particular bank is really suffering hard times because they have cheated too many people.
    a couple years ago a group of local businessmen organized a new local bank. they charge $10 for a box of checks.Yhe other banks charge $24. the charged 9% on their Visa card.the other banks are in the upper 20’s range.Unfortunately,the local bank merged with another state bank and they immediately raised credit card rates to 14%,but that is still 10% less than the large chain banks in town.
    I wish we had a credit union I could join,but all we have is a state emplloyee CU and a RR CU.

    Comment by Jay Hudson — October 5, 2011 @ 7:48 pm | Reply

  3. I agree with you. I know that Wells Fargo charges $5 to cash a check if you don’t have an account with them. Now the rest of the story behind this $5 fee is that they charge that even if it is a check written on an account at that particular branch. I mean, come on, it’s your own check from one of your own accounts and you want to charge me $5 to cash it.
    I haven’t had an account with a “bank” in almost a decade. I use credit unions only. I don’t have credit cards because I refuse to pay the high interest payments just to make a purchase. The down side, my credit score has suffered because of it.
    It’s a real catch 22. If you don’t pay interest rates on lines of credit your credit score drops, then your low credit scores cost you in higher deposits for renting a house or getting utilities turned on. This is despite the fact that my previous rental agreement was paid on time every month and my utility payments were never late.
    Try to get Dish-Network or Direct TV turned on in your house. They don’t care about anything except your credit report. Good, bad or indifferent, it doesn’t matter what your story is, they refuse to hear it. Your non-refundable deposit is based solely on that report and nothing else.
    In these days, we are nothing but a number, plain and simple. It’s sad but true.

    +1

    Comment by Leah — October 6, 2011 @ 7:45 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

