UNWRITER Ron Berry

November 1, 2011

The American Way


Freedom, remember that? We used to have it. Not any more. We are now a nation controlled by insurance companies, pantywaists, and an idiot named Obama. Smoking is bad for you. So, since it is bad, insurance companies and state fools, er, governments, ban it everywhere. But, there is a big push to legalize marijuana. This makes sense how? People are so afraid of smelling a cigarette that they will go to extremes to avoid it. Yet how many people are overcome by perfumes and colognes? Not to worry, that’s the next thing to get banned. Coming to work with even a hint of smoke will get you fired. Coming to work with a hangover is a great conversation starter and will get you invited out for a multi-cocktail lunch.

Women have finally won equality but that is about to end. Instead of just allowing a woman the right to just say no, others know what is really correct. Abortion will be banned. Where does that leave us? For the females that survive the back alley use-any-available-kitchen-utensil, their male counterparts will have to work two or more jobs to support the plethora of unwanted children. Not to worry though because children know when they aren’t wanted. So, since parents can no longer discipline their offspring, we can expect a lot more criminal activity. Mom didn’t want the child but the law does. Isn’t it nice to be wanted?

Sex and sexual activities are still allowed: if and only if you are heterosexual. Non-heterosexuality is genetic. It cannot be changed through therapy. But you don’t need to know science to be in politics. Take a look at who is running for office this year for proof.

Ladies, considering the way this country is changing, there are only two things you can do. Start smoking to prevent getting pregnant or a job, and grow your hair long, thus allowing the male to have something to grab hold of as he drags you into his mancave.

6 Comments »

  1. Good rant, lol. Not funny, of course, the substance. Hey I remember back when we used to like to smoke after sex. Now ya can’t do either one!

    Comment by Cactus Annie — November 1, 2011 @ 7:38 am | Reply

    • You said it, sister – and good post, Ron! You KNOW what I think of the Obamanation of this country, and with all the “don’ts” these days, sheesh … who wants to live to be 100 if you can’t have any fun?

      Comment by theoldsilly — November 1, 2011 @ 7:54 am | Reply

  2. I’m with Cactus – smoking’s bad, unprotected sex kills, don’t eat red meat, more than two drinks a day and you’re dead meat, good lord … why live to be a hundred if you can’t have any fun? And of course you KNOW my stance on the Obamanation of this country!

    Comment by theoldsilly — November 1, 2011 @ 7:41 am | Reply

  3. You KNOW MY feelings about the Obamanation of this country! And all the “don’t” these days … like having some fun will kill ya. Who wants to live 100 boring years?

    Comment by theoldsilly — November 1, 2011 @ 7:43 am | Reply

  4. Good points, Ron. There are things we don’t know, haven’t been taught, that we should know. Start reading the books on the banned book list. Shouldn’t we be asking why those books are on the banned books list? It’s more than just the n-word or swearing or graphic sex. They contain dangerous ideas that might enlighten the masses who don’t/can’t think for themselves.

    Frankly, I am asthmatic. I can’t handle heavy-scented perfumes. They trigger asthma attacks. I can’t eat chocolate in the autumn. It triggers asthma attacks. And I really can’t handle tobacco smoke. It triggers asthma attacks. My mother wore Tabu perfume. THAT is a strong perfume. But if you think you might have offensive body odors because you are overweight, it covers them. If you want to eat chocolate in front of me, that’s OK. I would rather avoid the chocolate in autumn than risk my life. Asthma attacks are potential killers. But if you smoke where I am, that is beyond my control because you think you have the right to smoke anywhere and that steps on my right to be able to breathe. I’m sorry if that inconveniences you. So if I walk away from where you are and don’t talk to you because you wreak of cigarette, cigar, whatever smoke, please don’t be offended. I’m exercising my right to be able to breathe.

    When I was a kid my dad would get us all in the car, my brothers and I in the backseat side by side. In the winter time he would crack the driver’s door window half an inch or so so the smoke would go out of the car, but the smoke and odor was still in the car. Is THAT how I ended up with asthma? Or was it something genetic? I don’t know. But I cannot be around tobacco smoke if I want to breathe.

    So, who has the greater right: the smoker or the person who just wants to breathe? I’m not saying you can’t smoke if you want to. (Not sure why anyone wants to smoke with 4,000+ poisons in those products to addict you and keep you coming back, a lifetime customer.) All I’m asking is that I be able to come and go as I want to just as you do.

    Oh, Ron. Controversy. There will always be controversy. But people need to keep talking and thinking. THINKING!!!

    Comment by Cathy — November 1, 2011 @ 7:55 am | Reply

  5. Good fodder for thought. There is much controversy in the topics you mention and probably will be for years to come. In the end though I think it all comes down to personal responsibility and accepting consequences for ones actions. There are contradictions on all sides of the arguments, but probably because logic is not considered very carefully.

    I’m all for legalization of marijuana, but I certainly wouldn’t want to see users partaking of the substance in any place at any time. That would be abusing the rights and even health concerns of others. I remember when tobacco use used to be like that.

    In any decisive action one should consider possible consequences and think carefully before following through. It seems easy to try to evade consequences of ill-thought actions or to blame anyone but oneself, but in the end is it easy?

    Lee

    Comment by Arlee Bird — November 1, 2011 @ 8:44 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

